News

Live Webcast: Transits from Earth, Jupiter & Saturn, Past, Present & Future

Live Webcast: Transits from Earth, Jupiter & Saturn, Past, Present & Future

Credit: NASA

Participate in a live astronomy talk in Hawaii.

On Thursday, June 7, 2012, Keck Observatory is hosting a live webcast of an astronomy talk by Dr. Jay Pasachoff of Williams College entitled ?Transits of Venus from Earth, Jupiter and Saturn, Past Present and Future.? 

The webcast begins at 7 pm Hawaiian Time, 10 pm Pacific Time (5 am GMT, May 11) and will be streamed from the Gates Performing Arts Center Auditorium at Hawaii Preparatory Academy in Waimea-Kamuela, on the Big Island of Hawaii. Watch in the window below, or click on the UStream link.

The live webcast will play in the box below beginning at 7 pm HST / 10 pm PDT, or can be found via the Keck Observatory Facebook page.

 


Live video by Ustream

For questions during the webcast, please watch the lecture via the Keck Observatory Facebook page.
# # #

The W. M. Keck Observatory operates two 10-meter optical/infrared telescopes on the summit of Mauna Kea on the Big Island of Hawaii. The twin telescopes feature a suite of advanced instruments including imagers, multi-object spectrographs, high-resolution spectrographs, integral-field spectroscopy and a world-leading laser guide star adaptive optics system which cancels out much of the interference caused by Earth’s turbulent atmosphere. The Observatory is a private 501(c) 3 non-profit organization and a scientific partnership of the California Institute of Technology, the University of California and NASA.